Crochethook's Blog

Would you like to see my stitches?

New Year, New Blog January 9, 2010

Filed under: Completed projects — crochethook @ 10:34 pm
Tags: ,

Have started 2010 by deciding to finally blog about my growing crochet mania.  That and starting on some serious stash-busting but that is a whole post in itself.   I started crocheting just over two years ago, having given up all hope of ever mastering the strange and mysterious art of knitting.  I started with Stitch ‘n’ Bitch Crochet – The Happy Hooker and just got it.  In one afternoon I could crochet which was a revelation and has proved to be a delight.  I rarely move now without hooks and yarn.  I crochet while on the bus, while reading, while watching TV – unless Doctor Who is on.  I have to give that my undivided attention.

I plan to use this blog as a place to display the fruits of my labour.  As I have a couple of year’s worth of stuff to blog about, I imagine the posts will come thick and fast at first.  It all might slow down a bit once I am down to works in progress.  Anyway, to start off I am posting the project I am proudest of to date – a “Knitted Character” from Harry Hill’s TV Burp created at first for my brother and then again for a friend who really wanted one.   The Knitted Character is sadly misnamed as he is clearly crocheted but who am I to argue with Mr Hill’s comedic genius?  I used a monkey pattern from Mr Funky’s Super Crochet Wonderful and added a small circle of crochet for the muzzle. The ears I just made up as I went along.

Version one took me a weekend to produce and I didn’t do a great job on the mouth but my brother loves him.

Version One: Great ears, not so good on the facial embroidery

Version two was much quicker and I finished him in few hours.  He had a better mouth but I was less happy with the ears.  Aural deformity aside, he was warmly received in his new home by which point I was so sick of the pattern I never did make one for myself.

Version Two: Bad ears

 

One Response to “New Year, New Blog”

  1. Richard Says:

    Version two reminds me of a ‘dude’ I know… 🙂


Leave a Reply

