Crochethook's Blog

Would you like to see my stitches?

Oh, My Poor Heartses! January 10, 2010

Filed under: Work in Progress — crochethook @ 4:39 pm
Tags: , ,

I was going to hang back from posting too much geeky crochet at first but pressure from other members of the household has dictated that the second project I share with the public is even geekier than The Knitted Character.

Prepare yourselves for a sad tale.  As a young boy, Mr Crochethook became a devotee of the comic 2000AD, a love which continues to this day.  In one of his mother’s magazines was an advert for a pattern to sew a Gronk and he pestered his Mum into sending off  so he too could have a Gronk of his own in case of unforseen medical emergencies.  Sadly the Gronk was never actually made and so Mr Crochethook was forced to live a Gronkless existence.  As a soft-hearted girlfriend, I had managed to get hold of the pattern a few years ago but sewing is not one my skills so I had to abandon the idea of making one for Mr Crochethook’s Christmas present.  As a new crocheter, however, I got uppish last year and decided that maybe I should have a stab at hooking one instead.  For those of you who are unfamiliar with the Gronk, he is a strange looking fellow and opinion seems to be divided on even the basic facts.  Even now I’m not sure what colour he really is.  I found a few images on the web but ended working mostly from the ones on this page and with the colours I had to hand.

Presenting the Gronk

He was a very early project and has a lot of faults – mostly concentrated on his strangely shaped posterior!  I didn’t have a pattern and basically made him up as I went along.  That’s beginner’s bravado for you though and the strangeness of the creature doesn’t help.  He did, however, satisfy Mr Crochethook’s thwarted childhood longings.

I mentioned yesterday that I was stash-busting as it is the only New Year’s resolution I am ever likely to keep.  Here is a small part of the yarn collection I need to tame.

Never leave me unattended in the wool shop.

I always seem to over estimate how much yarn I will need for any given project.  Add this to an inclination to buy just one more ball to be on the safe side and you end up with a slow invasion of the flat by plastic bags bulging with yarn.  As you can see, I am not a yarn snob – the whole pile is 98% acrylic but I love the colours so see no reason to feel ashamed of using the stuff.  To get it all under control I am creating a full-on retro granny square throw for the sofa. As the picture above shows, it is an ugly, ugly sofa so covering it up is all to the good.  I love a good granny square as it makes for nice mindless crochet while reading or watching the TV with no real need to look at what your hands are doing.  Due to the snow I have made great progress over the last few days and hopefully it won’t be too many weeks before I can post the final result.

 

4 Responses to “Oh, My Poor Heartses!”

  1. Renoir Says:

    Nice work.
    Have you a pattern for a crocheted Dalek yet?

    Renoir

  2. Chief Judge Says:

    Hi! – Read about this back in the late 70’s – The pattern appeared in Woman’s Realm 10th Nov 1979. Been after a copy of the magazine for ages. Any ideas.


Leave a Reply

