Crochethook's Blog

Would you like to see my stitches?

Companions January 31, 2010

Filed under: Completed projects — crochethook @ 12:39 pm
Tags: ,

Despite all my good intentions of blogging on a regular basis, sickness and a lack of camera put the kybosh on my plans.  The sickness is over now but I have yet to sort out the camera issue so I am relying on the good offices of Mr Crochethook’s iPhone for the post this morning.

If you have stumbled here from my twitter feed, you may be aware that we share our house with two small fellows called Mr Grasshead and the Floppy Monkey.  They were quiet chaps when they arrived about 7 years ago but they seem to have somewhat eclipsed us in the last few years.  Mr Grasshead recently had a shout-out on national radio and Monkey has more twitter followers than me.  They are also insidiously charming and generally entice us into doing just what they want.

I have experimented on and off with amigurumi since I started crocheting but have sadly given most of them away without taking a picture first.  I love that such a simple spiral of double crochets can allow you such flexibility and that the projects are so quick to complete.  Once I had got the basic technique sorted out, I had a request from Mr Grasshead for an amigurumi version of his handsome figure.  As he is such a straight-forward shape, he was fairly easy to recreate in yarn.  After making the basic cylinder shape and stuffing it, I added his grassy hair by making  a small, flat circle of crochet with strands of green yarn pulled through and trimmed so they stayed spiky. His nose is just a tiny round of double crochets sewn on before stuffing.

Mr Grasshead would also like to draw your attention to his Cloud Appreciation badge for the sake of swanking.

Last night on TV Burp Harry Hill announced the opening of The K Factor which Monkey got very excited about.  I think he sees this as his chance to get on national, prime-time TV and he begged me to submit an entry.  The rules don’t say that crochet is banned but they don’t say it is allowed either so, on the off-chance I will get away with it, I hooked up a Monkey chosen pattern last night and emailed him in.  May I introduce Mr Banana…

And Mr Banana meeting his biggest fan…

Mr Banana is a slightly modified version of this pattern – I moved his peel around and made him a little larger so he would photograph better – but this is a great pattern for any amigurumi beginners out there.  He is made in one piece so there is no fiddly sewing small parts together and the increases and decreases are minimal.  I hope he does well in the competition or I fear Monkey will insist I make something more ambitious to send in next week.

 

Leave a Reply

