Crochethook's Blog

Would you like to see my stitches?

Easter Chicks March 24, 2010

Filed under: Free pattern,Quick Projects — crochethook @ 9:40 am
Tags: , ,

I have spent a happy couple of evenings working up a half-dozen on Easter chicks to send as a gift. There are numerous patterns on the web for chicks. I was mainly inspired by this one but I ended up making my own version, mostly because I always think I know best. I would have used bead eyes and glued on felt for the beaks but, as these are going to small children, I had to embroider the features this time.

My version of the pattern allows the beak to be centred between the wings.  It also makes the wings less bulky and adjusted some of the proportions from the original pattern.  I used double-knit wool and 4.5mm hook but any adjustments for the scraps of yarn you have should work fine.  Each one took about half an hour to complete.

Round 1: Make a magic loop. 6 dc into loop
Round 2: 2dc in each stitch (12 dc)
Round 3: 2dc in first stitch, 2 dc in second stitch, *2 dc in next stitch, 1 dc in next stitch**, repeat *-** to end of round (19 dc)
Round 4-5: 1dc in each stitch (19 dc)
Round 6: 1 dc in first four stitches, in FLO of fifth stitch (1dc, 1htc, 1 tc, 1 htc, 1 dc – wing made), 1 dc in next 9 stitches, repeat (-) to make second wing, 1 dc in each stitch to the end of the round. (27 stitches)
Round 7: 1 dc in first four stitches, 1dc in unused back-loop of the wing stitch from round 7, 1dc in next 9 stitiches, 1 dc in unused back-loop of the wing stitch from round 7, 1 dc in next 4 stitches. (19 stitches)
Round 8-10: 1 dc in each stitch (19 stitches) Stuff and embroider eyes and beak if required at the end of round 10.
Round 11: decrease first 2 dc, decrease next 2 dc, *decrease next 2dc then dc in next stitch**, repeat to *-** to end of the round. (12 stitches)
Round 12: decrease 2 dc all round. Sew closed and weave in ends. (6 stitches)

 

One Response to “Easter Chicks”

  1. […] to my niece and nephew to accompany the traditional chocolaty gifts.  Last year I made them some Easter chicks which were very popular but nothing traditionally spring-like was inspiring me this year. […]


Leave a Reply

