Crochethook's Blog

Would you like to see my stitches?

Socks November 4, 2010

Filed under: Completed projects — crochethook @ 1:42 pm
Tags: ,

I have had my first foray into making socks using the pattern for Shell Socks featured in the September Issue of Inside Crochet. (I would put a link but they don’t have a great presence online which is a shame.)

The pattern was quite straight forward and the large size seemed big enough to cover even my dirty great plates.  For my first attempt I used the lovely Noro wool I had bought a few weeks ago.  There were far more colours in the skein than I realised so they are bit of a rainbow extravaganza.

Feeling flushed with success I went back for more sock wool and found this lovely Regia wool in my local yarn shop.

This is what's left of the second ball

I have made the second pair for my Mum.  Thankfully her feet are much smaller than mine as, even moving up a hook size, this yarn made a slightly tighter and smaller foot.  If I use this wool again, it is something I will have to bear in mind.

The cold weather can do its worst now as me and mine are sorted for bed socks.

***Up-date*** It transpires that the heel on the second pair was too tight so I had to unravel and restitch them.  It’s not a long job but I am suprised at how wildly different a guage I got with the Regia wool.

 

2 Responses to “Socks”

  1. Those lovely colourful socks have inspired me to have a go.

    I found loads of other sock patterns here:
    http://www.crochetpatterncentral.com/directory/socks.php

  2. crochethook Says:

    Thanks for the link. I am quite tempted to try some out now. Must go wool shopping after Christmas!


Leave a Reply

