Crochethook's Blog

Would you like to see my stitches?

Gingerbread Man Decoration November 14, 2010

Filed under: Completed projects,Free pattern — crochethook @ 11:08 am
Tags: ,

I have spent this week knocking out Christmas decorations to be sold at a charity event in December.  I have been raiding books, magazines and websites for inspiration but there were quite a large number of patterns that I just wasn’t happy with.  One of the items that gave me the most problems was a Gingerbread Man. None of the patterns I found came out right when I tried them so, in desperation, I made up my own.   I hope to get the chance to blog some of the other patterns I have written before Christmas but I thought I would start with my Gingerbread Man as I am really rather pleased with him.

Gingerbread Man

I used DK weight wool and 3.5mm hook but I think it would work as well with adjustments for the yarn you have on hand.

Round 1: Using brown yarn make magic loop, 6 dc into ring.  Join with slip-stich

Round 2: Chain 1, 2 dc in crochet in each stitch round.

Round 3; Chain 1, 1 dc in first stitch, 2dc in next stitch to the end of the round.  Head done.  Do not fasten off

Body

Row 1:  Chain 1, dc in in next 3 stitches.  Turn. (3 stitches)

Row 2: Chain 1, 2 dc in first stitch, dc in next stitch, 2 dc in final stitich.  Turn. (5 stitches)

Row 3: Chain 1, dc in first stitch,  2 dc in second stitch, 1 dc in middle stitch, 2 dc in next stitch, dc in final  stitch.  Turn.  (7 stitches)

Row 4-11: 1 dc in every stitch and turn.  Do not fasten off.

Legs:

Row 12: 1 dc in first 3 stitiches. Turn.

Row 13- 18: 1 dc in each stitch and turn. (3 stitches)

Row 19: 1 dc in each stitch and fasten off.

Attach yarn at other side of the body and repeat rows 12-19 to create the second leg.

Arms:

Row 20: Attach yarn at Row 2 of the main body.  1 dc in next 3 stitches/rows and turn.

Row 21-25: I dc in each stitch and turn. (3 stitches)

Row 26: 1 dc3tog and fasten off.

Repeat rows 20-26 for other arm.

Finishing:

Attach white yarn and work one dc around the outline of the piece.  Attach beads or sequins for facial features and buttons or embroider details.  Attach a small piece of yarn or ribbon at the top for hanging.  You may wish to starch the piece to give it some rigidity.

 

2 Responses to “Gingerbread Man Decoration”

  1. […] De Gemberkoekenman. Doet me om één of andere reden ook aan kerstmis denken, maar ik kan niet meteen bedenken waarom . Maak hem zelf met dit gratis patroon van Jane McGrath. Ik zou denken dat je dit mannetje ook gemakkelijk kunt aanpassen tot bijvoorbeeld een sneeuwman of zelfs de kerstman! Speel gewoon met de kleuren en met de versiersels […]


Leave a Reply

