Crochethook's Blog

Would you like to see my stitches?

Small things amuse small minds August 30, 2011

Filed under: Quick Projects,Work in Progress — crochethook @ 12:09 pm
Tags: , ,

It’s a post-blanket world and I am enjoying myself running two little projects which I know won’t take long to finish.

Number one was a direct result of my obsession with the Habitat closing down sale.  I couldn’t stop dropping in and buying things I needed but was too tight to purchase at full price.  I ended up playing reduction chicken –  I lost on a wok as they sold out before they had gone as low as I hoped but I did come away with some genuine bargains.  My favourite is a sizeable teapot and, as all roads lead to crocheting, it was one small step from buying that to deciding I needed a tea cosy to go with it.  As it shaped more like a coffee-pot than a traditional teapot, finding a pattern to fit was a bit of a mission but I came across the Checkmate Tea Cosy in Issue 17 of Inside Crochet which was adaptable enough to do the job.  I am about halfway through after a week and, some initial wonkiness aside, it seems to be coming on a treat.

It will make more sense when it's done, honest. At least that's what the pattern says.

Second quick project is the aqueduct scarf.  When I was in Edinburgh I had a trip to Armstrongs on Grassmarket. (I heartily recommend a visit if you are in Edinburgh.  It is an amazing shop.) I came out with a pristine red leather jacket for the bargain price of £25.  I swear, it looks like it has never been worn.  I genuinely didn’t have a scarf that would go with it so I started one last night with some merino wool that has been sitting in my stash for months.  I improvised the pattern to give me something quite narrow and a suitable weight for Autumn.  Mr Grasshead said it reminded him of an aqueduct in structure which suggested the name.  I will write up the pattern as a freebie when I am done but the more experienced amongst you can probably work it  out from the photo.

One hour's work including the improvisation. I do like a project that grows quickly.

During the long weekend I had my first snooze under the TARDIS blanket and I can report it was as cosy as I hoped it would be. It was a bit of a slog toward the end but I am quite delighted with it.

 

Leave a comment